Saturday, September 13, 2014

July Run

Welllll, the July half marathon is finished (obviously, it's September!) and it went so well for me!

{Read about the first time I ever ran a half marathon here}

I made it my goal to run the race in 2 hours and 45 minutes, which is a slooooow comfortable pace for me. I was mostly concerned with the fact that it was going to be hot and humid, because I'm an idiot and signed up for a run in Chicago in July.

Well thank goodness for global warming ;) because it was the perfect running day....not even getting a tiny bit humid until I was on mile 12, and by then, I didn't even notice it much because all I was focused on was finishing the race.

Tommy came with, and was super supportive throughout the race. He didn't run it with me, mainly because I wold him not to. For some reason I get super anxious on runs longer than a 5k, and I worry about him while we run, instead of just running. It's weird.

Anyway, right before I started, he waited with me at the start line to see me off. Then I started the run with "Animals" playing on my iPhone and basically was teary eyed and crying a little throughout the whole first mile. They were happy tears though! Mainly because I just kept thinking, "Wow. I can't believe I am running 13.1 miles today! What an amazing body I have! How lucky I am to be able to do this awesome thing in this beautiful place!" Totally cheesy, I know, but I iz what I iz.

Tommy met up with me at the water station near mile 4. We walked through it and I took half of my first Hammer Gel with some water. Then we started back up and he ran with me a little bit to mile 5ish. We said goodbye there, and I was on my own again until mile 7. Then we ran a little bit more, and he kept me company. Right about that time I was starting to feel hurty. I remember saying to him, "Boo, I'm not in pain, but I am feeling uncomfortable" while we were running. I also took the rest of my Hammer Gel then and did the whole wrapper THROW-DOWN like a true runner. heh.

We parted ways, and met up again at mile 12, where my body was like "woah" and we walked it out a little bit. I picked it back up and finished strong, hand in hand with my hub and then instantly wanted to pass out. He always pushes me at the end, and while I'm grateful for it, itsssss sssssooooooo haaaaarrrrrdddd!

I got my medal, foody goodies, passed on the free beer (AGAIN!), and we stood in line to get a free stretching by Athletico. That was heaven :)

Then we walked back to the car, but not before getting a double chocolate donut from Dunkin Donuts (omg yum), and stopping to take a picture of my medal in front of the bean!

It was a nice race, especially because of the weather, but I do not think I will be doing the Rock and Roll Half again in Chicago. It's just too much of a risk to run it and hope it's not hot....I don't love running, medals, or donuts THAT much.

I ended up running it in 2:39:42, which beat my original goal of 2:45, and blew my first half marathon time of 3:00 out of the F*cking water! Woot. I was pretty proud of sticking with it and not hating my life while I was running!

I think at this point, half marathon races are good distances for me. I'm not mentally/physically/devotionally ready for a marathon, and 5ks are too short now. The half is long enough that I know I couldn't just go run one tomorrow, but short enough that I know I could run one if I tried. Does that make sense?

Anyway, July run for 12 races in 12 months complete!!
{Right after finishing}

{Race number 9}

{My main support system}

{My sweet medal}

{I run for donuts}


No comments:

Post a Comment